Trevor Bauer becomes first Reds Pitcher to win NL Cy Young Award

CINCINNATI — Trevor Bauer won the 2020 National League Cy Young award, the first Reds pitcher ever to win the honor.

“It means a lot,” Bauer said via video conference following the announcement, according to ours new partner WCPO. “It has been my goal. Something I’ve chased for nine years now. I’ve been studying, learning, researching, trying to get better. I have overcome a lot to accomplish something that feels very special.”

The Cincinnati Reds have had 31 players inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame, 12 players named National League MVP, and 7 Rookie of the Year winners.

Bauer received 27 of the 30 first-place votes, and three second-place votes, according to WCPO.

The Cleveland Indians' Shane Bieber won the American League’s winner.

Comments on this article