Pro Football Hall of Fame announces list of nominees to this year’s class

CANTON — The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced the nominees to the Class of 2023, according to a news release.

>>Former Bengals great Ken Riley named finalist for Pro Football Hall of Fame’s 2023 class

The list includes 129 modern-era nominees and several have connections to the Cincinnati Bengals and Cleveland Browns.

The nominees consist of 67 offensive players, 50 defensive players, and 12 special teams players.

Those making the list for the first time include running back Chris Johnson, offensive lineman Joe Thomas, defensive lineman Dwight Freeney, linebacker James Harrison, defensive backs Kam Chancellor and Darrelle Revis and punter Shane Lechler.

Among those nominees with connections to the Cincinnati Bengals include:

  • Willie Anderson
  • Corey Dillon
  • James Harrison
  • Chad Johnson
  • Justin Smith
  • Takeo Spikes

The nominees connected with the Cleveland Browns are:

  • Joe Thomas
  • Jake Delhomme
  • Jamal Lewis
  • Eric Metcalf
  • Andre Rison
  • Lomas Brown
  • Willie McGinest
  • Joshua Cribbs
  • Clyde Simmons (assistant coach from 2017-2018)

The list will be reduced to 25 semifinalists in November and then 15 finalists will be announced in early January, the Hall of Fame said.